top of page
Search

Graduating in the midst of a Pandemic

First and foremost, I would like to congratulate all 2020 graduates. The resilience and zeal that has constantly been displayed through this pandemic deserves recognition. Toiling to complete your diploma/degree, competing with experienced individuals who lost their jobs at the start of the pandemic, struggling to keep your mental health at bay, yet still managing to smile on the outside is something I believe is noteworthy enough to add to any Resume. Whether you learnt a new skill or simply did nothing during this entire ordeal. I am proud of you for not giving up. I don't think enough credit is given to people who somehow manage to stay afloat despite the struggles that they face on a daily ranging from debt, social issues and Mental Health.

If you are anything like me you probably at some point had your entire life planned out. You know the names of your future children, the acquisition of "wealth", the age you intend on going back to school as well as the progression of your professional career. Might I add, Nothing is going as planned. *laughs in unison*

For those who have learned to ride the waves of life, I admire you and for those still learning, I think most of us are. The biggest lesson is that it really isn't rewarding for your mental health when you set time bound goals. (Mind blowing) Here's why, Life has a way of being EXTREMELY UNPREDICTABLE, I encourage everyone to have goals as they can serve as excellent motivators and accountability indicators. In regards to setting deadlines they can be extremely limiting and put a damper on learning to appreciate the journey as you become so focused on the outcome. Some Goals are better left without a deadline.

Mind you, this is merely my opinion. As someone who has struggled with anxiety, I can honestly say nothing is more intimidating than a ticking timebomb in your hands with no means of escaping, metaphorically that is. Realistically, we are stuck in the midst of a global pandemic, competing with the experienced class for limited ENTRY level jobs all whilst watching our biological clock count down. At the start of this pandemic, I was a mess. I had already developed habits of a workaholic, overachiever and perfectionist.

I think this pandemic has allowed me to take a step back from my ideals and work on my SELF, to truly focus on my Success, Empowerment and Learning. I have learned to channel my energy into things I genuinely enjoy for individual and personal growth. Honestly, Not everything has to be about your career, the more you grow personally, is the more you understand your true SELF, that is what success is. Knowing your likes and dislikes, working on yourSELF, mentally or/and physically. SELF-care sometimes, can simply be deciding to sleep in on the weekends or rewarding yourself for something small. Everyone has different mediums to SELF-care and I think after this pandemic we should be more open minded about them and be willing to accept them. Most importantly, stop comparing you, your success and your L(esson)S to the charts of the past or even the ones in the present as we each have our own beautiful Journey. Some people were able to secure a job as soon as they graduated, others are still looking and some haven't looked at all. Regardless of the category you fall into, it is important to remember that growth is constant. It simply never stops. So 'til next time, Keep growing in your own way.



*Articles are posted Weekly on Saturdays. We look forward to seeing you next week.

132 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page